one year

it’s been almost exactly one year since I wrote to you.
it’s been almost exactly one year since I wrote for myself.

and here we are. happy new year!

now, let me tell you a story:
once upon a time, I liked yogurt & fruit & granola for breakfast like any civilized person. but then I realized I could eat salad for breakfast–because I was a bonafide adult, independent and freewheelin’, so why the hell not–and all my civility went out the window.

image

I eat salad for breakfast almost every day. like this panzanella, with beets & roma tomato, red leaf & romaine, chickpeas, feta, and a sunny little boiled egg.

panzanella is one of my all time favorites–for anyone interested in mopping their plate with a hunk of bread, or sopping up soup, or really any instance of realizing the spongelike potential of a crusty loaf, panzanella is the salad for you.

it’s one of those vehicles (the mercedes W123 of foodstuffs, at once earnest and elegant) for slightly stale bread–which gets torn and baked into sizable croutons, which in turn soak up olive oil & tomato juices, and get lovely and pliant.

those savages, rebels & visionaries eating panzanella for breakfast (and lunch, and dinner) will live happily ever after.

the end–and the beginning of a year of writing.

xxoo

 

Leave a Reply

